1981: The Year in Music, Part 2 of 4

As I approach my 40th trip around the sun, I thought it would be fun to capture my favorite music from my birth year in the same format as I currently do at the close of each year. Here is Part 2 of 4 of the 1981 edition of my annual favorite tracks list. While they may be harder to find, I’ll still include live, in-studio performances or decent live recordings when possible. Plus a Spotify link to studio recordings (though some of those aren’t available, either) for good measure.

Th dB’s: “Black And White”


Great Buildings: “Hold On To Something”


The Replacements: “Takin’ a Ride”


Holly & The Italians: “Tell That Girl to Shut Up”


Mission of Burma: “That’s When I Reach for My Revolver”


Elvis Costello & The Attractions: “Strict Time”


Tom Petty & The Heartbreakers: “The Waiting”


The Cars: “Since You’re Gone”


Generation X: “Dancing With Myself”