Best Albums of the Decade

I’ve got friends and family who have really damn good taste in music. I personally think they’re more in touch with what’s going on than the likes of, say, Rolling Stone. Also, I’m obsessed with making lists (ask my wife).

Since we’re coming to the end of the first decade where I’ve been old enough to really pay attention throughout the entire thing, I figured: LET’S MAKE A LIST OF THE BEST FRIGGIN ALBUMS OF THE DECADE. Contributors: those smarties I just bragged about.

Anyway, below is the e-mail I sent out to a select few. I’m excited to see what everyone comes up with, and I’ll post the results here.

I used to have a blog thing, and I used to like to make lists on it. Anyway, I don’t have it anymore, but I still like to make lists…

There’s an event coming up that doesn’t happen for … oh, every ten years or so. It’s called the end of a decade. And with the end of a decade, there’s an opportunity to assemble one of the coolest kinds o’ lists ever.

The best albums of the decade list.

Anyway, I’m sending this to you because you’re the group of people who I think pays the most attention and who really gives a damn. And damned if you don’t have good taste. I’m sending this now because I really want to get you thinking about it.

I’d like you to develop your list of your favorite albums of the decade. It should probably be at least 20 albums deep. I’d hope you’re willing to get it to more like 100 🙂 But is there a limit? Hell no.

Can this get passed on to others? Yes. But pass it on only to the select few folks you know that really pay attention and who really give a damn. Make sure they’ve got decent taste, too. Not just kinda decent. Send it to the select few. You know who I’m talking about.

If you find worthy others who have interest, forward this message on, and forward their e-mails to me. If you don’t want to be part of this, that’s cool. Just let me know, and I’ll leave you alone.

When you’ve got a list that you deem worthy, send it my way. I’ll keep a working tally. Once we’ve got everyone’s who would like to participate (Let’s say … by the end of November), I’ll send the final list to all.

Fun? Get listenin’ and thinkin’. And list makin’.

I discovered recently that pitchfork plans to start rolling out its best-of-the-decade stuff August 17, culminating with their own best-albums-of-the-decade list the week of September 28.

So even though I was originally thinking end of November, I’d really like to get our list put together before pitchfork’s rolls out … we shall see.

Also, I might hit you up for some ideas on how to apply a point system to the contributors’ lists. Just sayin’.

In the meantime, what are some of the first albums that come to mind for you as being the best of the decade? Perhaps you can be of influence …

